New South Wales

New South Wales Annual Lecture

Each year the New South Wales Branch hosts the Harald Jensen Memorial Lecture.  The Harald Jensen Lecture is an annual lecture held by the NSW Branch of Soil Science Australia, as a forum to discuss and reflect upon contemporary and historical soil science issues. The Inaugural Lecture was given in 2005, by Dr Pat Walker, who gave an interesting presentation on the ‘Soil Pioneers of Australia’.  

The 2016 Lecture will be announced at the NSW 60th anniversary gala dinner.

Registration and further information will be via the Register for Events icon on the home page.


Harald Jensen Lecturers

2015  Ms Rebecca Lines-Kelly ‘Sharing the love: Two decades of soils communication’

2014  Associate Professor Balwant Singh  “Training soil scientists for the 21st century.”

2013  Professor Neal Menzies  "The Challenge of Predicting Metal Transfer throught the Soil-Plant-Animal Continuum -
          Reflections on the challenges of bucket soil chemistry through to synchrotron studies…

2012  Dr Mark Conyers  "‘Particulates vs partisans, humus vs the rotten, charcoal vs the cooked."

2011  Dr John Williams  "Restoration of soils for productive landscapes".


2009  Professor Alex McBratney "Soil Carbon: The Known Unknowns."

2008  Professor Rob Fitpatrick  "The Weight of the World on the Shoulders of Soil Science: Amazing new linkages between
          soil, water quality, extreme drought conditions and criminal investigations."



2005  Dr Pat Walker  "Soil Pioneers of Australia"



Soil Science Australia


Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that serves as the peak body for soil scientists across Australia, and seeks to advance soil science in the professional, academic and technical fields.  It is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences



Visit Awards Page or download application forms below

J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science

J.K. Taylor, OBE, Gold Medal in Soil Science

Australian Society of Soil Science Inc Publication Medal

C.G. Stephens PhD Award in Soil Science

L.J.H Teakle Award


 Federal Office

  PO Box 737 Prospect East 5082

 0476 450 321